Send and sign or Send for signatures
Depending on the chosen under "Who will sign the contract" method in your Draft you will have to either Send and sign (if you are one of the signees of the contract) or Send for signatures (if you are only creating the contract for external parties to sign). You can also write a personalized message to the recipients:
After you send a contract to its signees they will receive an email including a direct link to the contract on our platform and the customized email message you have chosen in the previous step.
If the receivers of your contract are new to Contractbook after clicking on Open contract they will automatically receive the rights to use our Recipient plan which allows them to sign an unlimited amount of contracts absolutely for free and benefit from some of the features of our platform.
If you want to attain the full list of included in the Recipient plan features, click here and choose to see the full list of features under our Foundation plan. This will expand a complete overview of our plans' features list and allow you to make a comparison.
How to sign and send a contract?
When you create a contract on Contractbook, the default setting is that you sign with an SMS code (SMS verification signature type) and that you as the sender sign the contract first. Once you have signed the contract it is automatically sent to the recipient.
If you are happy with this just scroll down to the bottom of the contract and press Sign and send.
A code will now be sent by SMS to you. The code you receive via SMS must now be inserted into the verification field and when you press Verify & sign, the contract is signed and sent to the recipient/s.
Once everything is in order, just lean back and wait for the recipients to sign. If they need some help, you can send them this article: Receiving and signing a contract.
If you do not want to sign the contract first, or if you have several signees, you can fully customize the signature order.
Can I send multiple contracts at once?
How do I sign a draft shared with others?
If you have shared a draft with external parties and then turn it into a contract by initiating the signature process, how do you make sure to keep the permissions to the involved in the signature process parties only?
Once you click the sign button in such cases, you will be asked if the collaborators of the draft shall keep the right to view the contract after it has been sent for signatures or not:
Alternatively, you can always choose to save a shared draft as a new one which will result in a completely identical copy of the draft, but without added collaborators. You can then proceed with your work in the newly created document and then turn it into a contract by initiating the signature process.
What happens if a contract is not signed?
You do not have to worry about the recipients not taking any further action after receiving a contract from you. Contractbook makes sure to send them an automated email reminder after 2, 5, 10, 20, 45, and 60 days. After the contract is signed or 60 days have passed, the reminders will be automatically stopped.
If any of the Signees decides to click on Suggest changes or Dismiss Agreement instead of signing the contract, the contract will automatically become hidden for all Signees disregarding the type of Contractbook account they own. This will not change unless the owner of the contract decides to send it out for signatures again.
Once a contract is fully signed all Signees will receive an email notification and they can download it as a .pdf directly from the email by clicking on the button Download the contract.
If you are one of the Signees of a contract you have received for signature, you will be able to access the contract from the signing link in your email which requests your signature, while the contract is Pending.
Once the contract has been signed by all Signees (fully signed) you will be able to access it from your Contractbook account, directly from the Signed Tab of your Documents overview or from the email notifying you it was fully signed.
If you need to know more about what happens after the sign and send button, click here.
And if you still need additional information or assistance, reach out to us at any time via our Online Support Chat or by sending us an email.