How to share a folder with others?
Once your shared folder has been created and documents - added to it, the next step is to share it with others.
Open the shared folder - you will immediately see the subfolders available under it, as well as an overview of the drafts and contracts you have added to it.
Note: Templates cannot be added to a shared folder, but you can add them to a shared templates category.
Now click on the blue button called Share folder on the upper right-hand corner, under the navigation bar.
In the pop-up window, you can choose to share with particular team members from your team, the entire team, or any external to your team individuals by inviting them via email.
You can also send a customized message to the chosen individuals you will share the folder with. Click on Share folder to confirm and then the folder will be shared.
Your collaborations will receive an email notification that a folder has been shared with them. By clicking on the Open the folder button in the email, they will be able to access it through Contractbook platform.
You can see the folder has been shared with external parties from the small icons with initials on the left side of the Share folder button. Hovering on an icon placed after Shared with grey label will give you information about the full name of the individual/team the folder has been shared with.
How do I share subfolders?
If you share a folder that has already any subfolders assigned to it, the contents of the main folder and all subfolders will be shared automatically with the chosen by you parties.
If you share a folder that does not include any subfolders, be aware that any newly created subfolders under the main one, will then be automatically shared with the chosen for the main folder parties.
Alternatively, you can choose to share only an individual subfolder. In this case, the main folder which includes it will not be shared, unless you choose to additionally do that. But any subfolders created in the future under the already shared subfolder will also be automatically shared with the same parties.
Removing access to a shared folder
You can also easily remove access to a shared folder.
After opening the shared folder click again on the blue button called Share folder on the upper right-hand corner, under the navigation bar. This will open the same pop-up window like the one you saw when you previously shared the folder. The member/team or external party will be listed as actively having access to the shared folder.
If you want to remove the access for a specific member, external party, or entire team, click on the "X" sign next to their name or email address and then confirm by clicking on Remove.
Confirm removing the access for the chosen member/team by clicking on Remove and they will no longer have the permissions to see the folder's contents.
How do I get notified about folders shared with me?
If someone shares a folder with you, you will receive an email with a notification about it, which will allow you to directly open the folder.
In addition, you will receive both email and in-app notifications regarding new documents added to the shared with you folder:
Note: You can adjust the email and in-app notifications under Profile Settings for your account.
You are now prepared to collaborate efficiently with your Contractbook shared folders structures.
If you want to know more about organizing your documents, read our articles about private folders and shared templates categories.
If you still need additional information or assistance, reach out to us at any time via our Online Support Chat or by sending us an email.