How to use Contractbook shared templates categories?
With Contactbook you can share documents safely with the relevant stakeholders and this way increases transparency and collaboration.
Organizing Contractbook templates in shared categories allows you to manage your contract workflow, save time and facilitate effortless teamwork by using identical, always up-to-date templates for the creation of an unlimited amount of contracts.
Shared templates are regular contract templates that are available on several accounts but managed specifically by one - their creator. If the person who manages the templates make any changes to them this will be simultaneously reflected on all other accounts with access to them.
With Contractbook shared templates you are secured that your collaborators consistently use the revised template version.
How to create a shared category?
Contact us in our Support chat and let us know you would like to use Shared categories. We will need the link to the template/s you want to share and the name/s of the categories you would like to assign them to. Currently, you are not able to add templates to your shared categories yourself therefore just send us a note whenever you need any modifications related to your shared templates categories.
Can I add shared with me or Contractbook templates to my own shared category?
The templates you want to add to a shared category you own must be your own templates. If you want to use any of the premade Contractbook templates you need to first save it as a new template under your own account and share this specific link with us. An indicator of a template being owned by you is the small green label which will be displayed once you open it (Your template as shown on the screenshot below):
The same extra step must be accomplished, in case you have some pre-existing shared with you templates that you want to add to your own category.
Here is a short video showing you how to save these types of templates as your own ones:
We create the Categories for you and assign the templates you have requested in regard to your wish.
The greatest part? You can have an unlimited amount of categories and templates on your Contractbook platform!
- Once we finish adding your Shared templates to their respective categories, the newly created categories will appear in the side menu on the Templates tab on your Contractbook platform.
Note: If the shared category is empty, it will not be visible to you. As soon as a template/templates are added to it, it will appear at the respective location under your account.
Hint: If you own a shared category, it will be displayed with a crown icon next to its title.
To access the templates from a shared category you simply click on the category's name which will relocate you to the category's page.
From the Category's page, you will be able to share each of your categories with any of your collaborators by pressing the blue button called Share category on the upper right-hand side.
You will have the option to share with your entire team or add an individual team member in a single click. Moreover, you can invite any external party via email as a collaborator to your shared templates category. The field below the invitees' list will give you the chance to customize a message to all recipients:
After you confirm the above sharing details by clicking on Share category in the pop-up window, all the invited collaborators will be able to access and use the templates you have added to your shared categories.
Should I save the original templates which I want to add to a shared category?
Once you have requested us to create a shared category for you and we have added the templates you want to share with others to it, there is no need for you to keep the original templates under your private folder structure.
In case you need to delete the original template from the Templates tab, once it is added to your shared category, you can easily do that.
This will not impact the shared template file which is already existing as a completely separate file under the respective category section on your Contractbook account.
How do I get notified if a templates category has been shared with me?
If you have activated the emails and in-app notifications under your Profile settings, each time a category is shared with you, you will receive a new notification with the details:
How to remove collaborators from Contractbook shared categories?
You can easily remove any added to your shared templates categories collaborator by clicking again on the blue button called Share category and clicking on the X sign to the right of the invitee you want to disallow access for.
How do I edit a template shared with me?
In case a template is shared with you, you will be able to recognize it by the small green label in the upper left-hand corner, once the template is opened:
If you want to amend any changes to these types of templates, you will not be able to do it right away since you do not hold ownership of the template, it was shared with you by the original creator. You can, however, first, create a draft from the template and then save it as a new template that will be your own and allow you to edit its contents as you find fit.
Using Contractbook shared templates categories is only one of the benefits of our platform. It helps you increase collaboration and transparency in your organization and allows you to manage the entire lifecycle of your contracts in a single place.
If you still need additional information or assistance, reach out to us at any time via our Online Support Chat or by sending us an email.