This article describes the different roles within a Contractbook team. It contains the following topics:
What are the differences between team owner, admin, member, and viewer in a Contractbook team?
The different roles of a Contractbook team are associated with different managerial rights and document access permissions.
The team owner has all the team's managerial rights and is responsible for their subscription. Team owners can:
- Build the team
- Add, deactivate and delete team members
- Add and remove team viewers
- View all team members' documents, such as drafts, contracts, or uploads
In addition, perform the following actions to all team members' drafts:
- Configure centralized automations that run across all team members' accounts
- Give members and viewers permission to see other members' documents
- Access the team folder
- Review all team members' actions in the activity feed
- Add and change the team logo
- Reactivate team members' accounts
- Change team members to guests
- Confirm and request changes to the payment method (any billing requests can be submitted via this form)
- Request a change of the team's owner
- Holds responsibility for the team's subscription plan
- Can only be an owner of one team at a time
Note: The team members or viewers can only see the team owner's documents by default if the team owner gives them access.
- A team admin can be an admin in multiple teams.
- A team admin can do almost everything a team owner can, the only difference being that an admin cannot request subscription/billing changes.
- Team admins can add new team members and viewers, remove or deactivate them and view all team documents.
- The admin is not responsible for the team's subscription; only the team owner is still responsible.
- Team admin cannot make changes to the team's plan (upgrades, adding the extra seats)
- A team can have more than one admin.
- All team admins will have the same managerial rights over the team.
- If you need an admin added to your team, you can contact our support team, and we will help you with the configuration.
- Is typically a colleague of the team owner.
- Will automatically be on the same plan as the team owner.
- Does not have any managerial rights in the team.
- Can only view other team members or the owner's documents if granted permission by the team owner.
- Can only be a member of one team at a time.
- Can be deactivated or deleted altogether.
- Can be reverted into a viewer.
- Needs to accept a new invitation to become a member again if once converted into a viewer.
- Is typically external, e.g., an accountant or lawyer who sometimes needs to be able to access documents
- Does not have any managerial rights in the team and cannot see the team's tab and activity feed
- Is automatically placed on the same plan as the team owner in Contractbook
- Neither the team owner nor team members can see the viewer's documents
- Can only view team members or owner's documents if permitted by the team owner
- If there are no permissions allowed, the viewer will not be able to see the Team's folder under the Documents tab at all
- Can join as a viewer in multiple teams
- Can be a viewer in one and a member or owner of another team in Contractbook at the same time
- Needs to be removed entirely from the team first to be turned into a member
- Can be a part of the team's automated workflows