What can I use private comments for?
Private comments enable your business to communicate internally on a draft without exposing communication to a counter-party. The owner and manager of the contract can decide who has access to Private comments on each document separately. Such permission can be granted to any user a document is shared with.
Who can use private comments?
In addition, users can see and reply to the Private Comment threads available in those documents.
How can I create private comments in drafts?
- To create a private comment simply open the document and switch to comment mode from the right-hand sidebar.
- Then, choose the text you want to comment on by double-clicking on a single word or selecting a piece of text with a mouse hovering.
- A dialog box will appear right next to the selected text. Use the drop-down option to activate a private comment option from the available options:
What do private comments look like compared to public?
All comments, both private and Public will be visible to the users with needed access in the right-hand sidebar of the opened document.
You can filter active and resolved comments for a complete overview.
All private comments will only be visible to users with specifically assigned permission to work with them.
They will be displayed with a "private" label and a lock-key icon underneath the comment body:
All remaining comments without a specific label and icon underneath their body are the Public ones.
Can I create comments on a mobile device?
We currently do not support the creation of comments on mobile devices.
What can accounts without access to private comments see?
- Any external party who is not granted access to private comments by the document Owner (or Full Access collaborator) but has access to the document itself does not see the relevant dropdown option for switching to Private comments.
- This means that anyone who does not need access to the functionality is unaware of the existing private comments communication in a draft.
- These types of users will only see the available by default option of accessing public comments. Read more about public comments and how to use them in Contractbook here.
What happens if I send a contract with private comments for signature?
When sending a draft for signature, all comments are removed from the contract.
This includes private and public comments.
Note: All comments (both private and public) will remain visible to the contract owner (or collaborator with Full Access permission) who has also sent the document for signature.
If you want to know more about your collaboration in drafts with private comments, click here.